Parkland College > Fine & Applied Arts > Giertz Gallery > Future Exhibits

FutureExhibits

Future Exhibits: 2017-18

2017 Parkland College Art and Design Faculty Exhibition

  • Monday, August 21 – Saturday, September 16, 2017
  • Reception: Thursday, August 24, 5:30-7:30 pm, with live music by The Young and the Fretless
  • Gallery Talk at 6:30 pm by Matthew Watt
  • View contemporary works of art produced in a variety of media by Art and Design faculty.

Stepping the Mast: Rob Millard-Mendez

  • Monday, September 25 – Saturday, November 4, 2017
  • Reception: Thursday, September 28, 5:30–7:30 with live music
  • Gallery Talk at 6:30pm by Rob Millard-Mendez
  • View sculptural work by Rob Millard-Mendez. As a woodworker and sculptor, his work often employs high craft but is also process-oriented and rich with historical references and personal narratives.

2017 State of the Art: Ceramics Invitational curated by Bill Griffith

  • Monday, November 13, 2017 – Saturday, February 3, 2018
  • Reception: Thursday, November 16, 5:30-7:30 pm, live music
  • Gallery Talk at 6:30 p.m. by guest curator Bill Griffith
  • Gallery is closed Wednesday, November 22 (5.pm.) and reopens Monday, November 27 for Thanksgiving; Closed December 11 and reopens January 15 for Holiday Break
  • Juror Bill Griffith is a practicing ceramic artist who has worked at Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts in Gatlinburg, Tennessee for 29 years as the assistant director and program director.
  • Participating artists include: Jennifer Allen, Peter Beasecker, Andy Brayman, Rebecca Chappell, Sam Chung, T.J. Erdahl, Steven Godfrey, Giselle Hicks, Matt Kelleher, Beth Lo, Andrea Moon, Mark Pharis, Shoko Teruyama, Dryden Wells, Russell Wrankle, and Kensuke Yamada

Giertz Gallery Fundraiser: Coffee and Tea, Cups and Dessert

  • Thursday, November 30, 4:00 – 7:00pm

Illustration Invitational curated by Liza Wynette

  • Monday, February 12 – Tuesday, March 27, 2018
  • Reception: Thursday, February 15, 5:30 – 7:30 pm
  • Gallery Talk at 6:30 p.m. by Liza Wynette
  • Closed: Thurs, Feb 22 for Professional Development Day; March 17 - 25 for Spring Holiday

Parkland College Art and Design Student Juried Exhibition

  • Monday, April 9 – Saturday, May 5, 2018
  • Reception: Thursday, April 12, 5:30 – 7:30pm
  • Awards Ceremony at 6:30 pm

Graphic Design: Parkland College Student Juried Exhibition

  • Monday, May 14 – Thursday, May 31, 2018
  • Reception: Wed, May 16, 5:30 – 7:30pm
  • Awards Ceremony at 6:30 pm
  • Summer hours begin: Mon-Thurs 10am – 7pm
  • Closed May 28 in observance of Memorial Day

 

Programs at the Giertz Gallery are partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency. All events in the handicapped-accessible gallery are free and open to the public. For more information call 217/351-2485 or visit www.parkland.edu/gallery.

 

Copyright Notice: All images and photos on these pages are copyright of the artists or gallery and may not be used for any purpose without written permission.

 

BACK TO TOP
Last updated: 7/12/17 • Webmaster: Cindy Smith